Jean-Claude Roegiers

Jean-Claude Roegiers developed the Rock Mechanics Curriculum, including the
Halliburton Rock Mechanics Laboratory, Fracturing Fluid Characterization Facility and
advised and co-advised more than 75 graduate students while teaching at the University
of Oklahoma. He has obtained in excess of 28 million dollars in external funding, founded
the world-class Rock Mechanics Institute and has been a (co-) author of more than 250
technical papers.

In the area of public service, he has given numerous keynote addresses at national and
international meetings, has been a technical reviewer for journals and governmental
agencies and a leader of the Workgroup on ‘Stimulation Procedures’ for ITPG. He has
also been a part of the initial efforts on the ‘DUSEL Applications’ workgroup. Jean-Claude
is a founding member of ARMA, organized 6 SPE Forums and RockOil 2002 in Dallas. He
was also a 2003-2011 member of the Drilling and Completion Advisory Board. Among his
recognitions and accomplishments are:

• 1978 – Prix Scientifique de l’A.I.Lg, Belgium
• Since 1980 – von Humboldt Fellow, Germany
• 1988-1993 – Most Eminant Scholar, OCAST
• Since 1988 – McCasland Chair, OU
• 1991 – Applied Research Award, USNCRM, Washington
• 1997 – Best Scientifique Paper, Géotechnique, Great Britain
• Since 1998 – Honorary Prof., China U. of Geosciences, Wuhan
• Since 1998 – Honorary Prof., Heibei Arch. U. Sci. & Tech, China
• 1998 – Best paper on ‘ Knowledge-based Systems’
• OilRock Excellence Award – Academic Domain, SPE/ISRM
• 2002-2003 – Chaire Francqui au Titre Etranger, Belgium
• 2005 – 2006 – JNC International Fellow, Japan
• Since 2008 – ARMA Fellow